Hate Speech

Stranger conversations have been overheard by
Passersby
But hearing those words
Uttered into the night
Sent a bolt straight down
My spine

That such darkness can clog
The human heart
Is no great wonder
To me

But to be
The unintended recipient
Of such fleeting
Enmity
Is something no amount
Of preparedness can
Cushion

Just as no amount of
Armor
Can safeguard a soul’s fragility
From being
Publicly flogged by an
Invisible whip

Author: Catherine Caruso

Writer of words. Lover of dogs.

15 thoughts on “Hate Speech”

  1. This is beautiful and shattering. Hope all is okay, cousin. Please reach out. I would love to be in touch. XO

  2. Just beautiful! Especially the last stanza seems so close that it send down the shivers and make me aware of the reality – a fragility that can’t be changed no matter what you try.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment

Hyperallergic

Sensitive to Art & its Discontents

Aubrey's Arch

A Complete Circle, An Oracle’s Virtue

Thinking Moon

"I have loved the stars too fondly, to be fearful of the night."

The Weird Writings of Gareth Barsby

Welcome to my world of weirdness.